skip to Main Content

Adult safeguarding duties apply to an adult who:

  • Has needs for care and support (whether or not the local authority is meeting any of those needs) and;
  • Is experiencing, or at risk of, abuse or neglect; and
  • As a result of those care and support needs is unable to protect themselves from either the risk of, or the experience of abuse or neglect.

If you have concerns about someone who does not meet these criteria then they will not be able to access Adult Safeguarding.  However, you should consider what help is available to them and assist them in seeking that help.

There are five stages in dealing with a safeguarding matter. 

You can use the link buttons below to ‘shortcut’ to the relevant section in the procedures.

The adult at risk must be included throughout the stages and the level of intervention will be proportionate to the risks and outcomes identified.


When a provider or partner is asked to undertake a Safeguarding Adults S42 Enquiry, the MASH or relevant Social Care Locality Team will provide an email address to where the completed report should be submitted within an agreed timescale. The Provider S42 Enquiry Report template and Factsheet can be found here

In an emergency dial 999 for an ambulance and/or the police 


Under the Care Act 2014 the local authority has the duty to provide independent advocacy to people (adults and carers) with care and support needs:

  • Who may have capacity but would have substantial difficulty (understanding retaining weighing up, communicating) in being involved in care and support processes (subject of a safeguarding enquiry and / or safeguarding adult review)
  • When there is no other suitable person to represent and support them
  • Advocacy must be independent of the local authority

The advocate’s role is to facilitate the person’s involvement, not merely be consulted about it. Advocates will decide the best way of supporting and representing the person they are advocating for, always with regard to the wellbeing and interest (including their views, beliefs and wishes) of the person concerned.

Visit our Advocacy page for more details on the services provided by Total Voice Cambridgeshire and Peterborough


  • Council’s Customer Services (8am to 6pm Monday to Friday, 9am to 1pm on Saturday)
  • Telephone: 0345 045 5202
  • Fax: 01480 498 066
  • Email:
  • Minicom: 01480 376 743
  • Text: 07765 898 732


In an emergency, outside office hours, if someone is in danger and unable to protect themselves or cannot remain in the community without immediate intervention telephone: 01733 234 724 and / or dial 999.

Back To Top
Translate »
Skip to content